Motorcycling New Zealand (MNZ) Women’s Commission are proud to announce that the 2024 Senior Women’s Motocross Championship will be held alongside the men at next year’s Senior Motocross Championship.   

“The 2024 MNZ Senior Motocross Championship is being held over four rounds across the country and for the first time, each round includes championship races for women – it is just great,” says Women’s Commissioner Sandra Perry. 

“As part of our strategy to increase the numbers of women competing in motorcycling, the Women’s Commission has been working with the other commissions and the result for motocross is a four round championship alongside men. 

“The 2024 Senior Women’s Motocross Championship, especially with one round in the South Island, is a great opportunity for any senior women motocross rider to race and for many, aspire to follow in the footsteps of our four-time world champion, Courtney Duncan,” says Mrs Perry. 

“The Women’s and Motocross Commissions have worked hard to build the profile of women in motorcycling, so to have four rounds of the senior women, matching the men, is simply outstanding,” says MNZ Motocross Commission member Sonia Cloke.  

“We have come a long way and this outcome is due to the success of the collaboration between our commissions, and in my view, the sport is better off for it. 

“On behalf of both Commissions, I would like to take this opportunity to thank the host clubs and the MNZ Board for their support too – including women in the 2024 Senior Motocross Championship would not have happened without their support,” says Ms Cloke. 

“Having women compete at the same event as men is such a good outcome – it is good for women, good for motocross and good for the sport – and it reminds me of the slogan ‘girls can do anything’,” says Women’s Commissioner Sandra Perry. 

The dates and host clubs as previously announced are: 

Round 1         3 February 2024       Rotorua Motorcycle Club 

Round 2         25 February 2024     South Otago Motorcycle Club  

Round 3         23 March 2024         Pukekohe Motorcycle Club 

Round 4         13 April 2024            Taranaki Motorcycle Club