Auckland Motorcycle Club Champs – Round Two

A beautiful Waikato spring day greeted competitors to Round Two of the Auckland Motorcycle Club Series at Hampton Downs on Sunday 18th October.
With the entire country back under Level-1 Covid 19 protocols, spectators were back to witness four rounds of spirited action; as the new class structure for this season again successfully offered healthy grids, and allowed four rounds of racing.
And those unable to attend had – as always – the opportunity to take in the coverage from long-time AMCC partner CTAS, with their proven and popular live-streaming and live-timing service.

In Senior, Jaden Hassan and Tarbon Walker command Formula Auckland and Supersport 600 respectively. Kawasaki mounted David Sharp is right there in the one-litre category, and there is plenty of additional interest across the category.

This includes Zak Fuller – taking the win in Race Four for the 600’s; and a healthy complement of Clubman entrants mixing it amongst the NZSBK and Club regulars.
Lars Bojsen-Moller heads the Clubman group, aboard his Honda CBR1000RR.

Adam Unsworth & Bryce Rose joined the sidecar field for Round Two, and grabbed three quick wins; with Mark Halls and Geoff Davies taking out race four, and controlling the points lead on their very well-sorted 600 Kawasaki rig.

The 10th Season of Carl Cox Motorsport Cup competition again complements the AMCC schedule, and Jesse Stroud has carried on where he left off last season on the 400 Kawasaki – however Caleb Gilmour was a cat among the pigeons at Round Two; first to the line twice, and posing a stern challenge to the current Ninja champ.
On the Hyosung’s current champ Loren May has his work cut out also. Back in 4th in the points, it is Cameron Leslie and Ben Cook setting the pace – just 32 points between them with three rounds to go for this Series.

Intermediate has a diverse grid, with Jesse Stroud leading Supersport 300, but under pressure from Luca Durning and the very fast Caleb Gilmore. Superlite similarly, sees a tense battle between Aaron Dempsey and Fabiano Paiva Santos – just 12 points between the pair.
While in a healthy field of ProTwin 650, Jarad Horn and Jacob Stroud are engaged in an arm-wrestle at the top of the table – with a single non-points result for Stroud being the difference between them.  Vaughan Maine holding a handy third overall.

Cameron Leslie and Ben Cook are extending their Carl Cox Motorsport Cup rivalry across to Junior – where in Prolite 250 they are keeping experienced heads Loren May and Scott Findlay at arms-length. The additional track time afforded by cross-entry delivering demonstrable benefit across a range of competitors.

Round Three will conclude the AMCC Club Series at Hampton Downs on Sunday 29th November, while the Carl Cox Motorsport Cup competition will continue with two additional events in the New Year.

2020-2021 AMCC Club Series Points:      (After ROUND TWO of Three)


Points – Senior: FORMULA AUCKLAND                           (Pirelli)
160         Jaden Hassan

141         David Sharp
116         Travis Moan


Points – Senior: SUPERSPORT 600                                   (Pirelli)

175         Tarbon Walker
137         Jacob Stroud
121         Luca Durning

Points – Intermediate: SUPERLITE                                    (Castrol)
145         Aaron Dempsey

133         Fabiano Paiva Santos
106         Sean White


Points – Intermediate: PRO TWIN 650                            (Castrol)

175         Jarad Horn
144         Jacob Stroud

117         Vaughan Maine


Points – Intermediate: 125ccGP                                       (Castrol)
170         Chris Malcolm
45           Blayes Heaven

Points – Junior: SUPERSPORT 300                                    (Metzeler / Muc-Off)

161         Jesse Stroud
139         Luca Durning
95           Caleb Gilmore


Points – Junior: 250 PRO LITE                                            (Metzeler / Muc-Off)

175         Cameron Leslie
161         Ben Cook
101         Scott Findlay


Points – Junior: F4, F5, GIXXER 150                                 (Metzeler / Muc-Off)
100         Debbie Tapper
50           Paul Ellis

Points – PRE 82 SENIOR                                                      (Motomail NZ)

95           Russell Barker

85           Phil Clarke


Points – PRE 82 JUNIOR                                                      (Motomail NZ)

190         Guy Webster
130         Phil Oades
36           Graeme Ogle

Points – PRE 89 Senior                                                        (Motomail NZ)

100         Rick Van Velzen
75           Mark Hatton

Points – PRE 89 Intermediate                                            (Motomail NZ)

125         Bryan Ashdown


Points – PRE 89 Junior                                                        (Motomail NZ)
190         Rory Garvey
90           Kerry Chapman
80           Craig Peebles

Points – PRE 95 Intermediate                                            (Motomail NZ)

100         Graham Moorhead
80           Martin Platt

Points – PRE 95 Junior                                                        (Motomail NZ)

75           Matt Barrie

Points – SIDECARS                                                                (Road Guide / Arai / Michelin)

160         Mark Halls / Geoff Davies
113         David McArthur / Doug Cornes

102         Nick Ploeg / Wendy Ploeg

Points – CLUBMAN SENIOR                                                (Counties Honda)

185         Lars Bojsen-Moller
145         Michael Stokes
133         Gershwern Scott


Points – CLUBMAN JUNIOR                                                (Counties Honda)

200         Christopher Nobbs

Points – NINJA CUP:                            (Carl Cox Motorsport)                         After Round Two of Five

516         Jesse Stroud
442         Chris Smith

369         Fabiano Paiva Santos


Points – HYOSUNG CUP:                    (Carl Cox Motorsport)                         After Round Two of Five

512         Cameron Leslie
480         Ben Cook

389         Tarbon Walker


The 2020-2021 Series is organised and promoted by the Auckland Motorcycle Club – who acknowledge all our valuable partners:-

Carl Cox Motorsport, Castrol, Counties Honda, Forbes & Davies, Levels Ltd, Motomail, and MTF Finance – along with MX Timing and CTAS Live.



Calendar – 2020-2021 AMCC Club Series:
All Rounds on the Hampton Downs National Circuit

Rd 1       20th September, 2020

Rd 2       18th October, 2020        

Rd 3       29th November, 2020

AMCC and HMCC Interclub Challenge:

Rd 1       AMCC Rd 2          18 October, 2020              Hampton Downs
Rd 2       HMCC Rd 2          8 November, 2020           Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park, Taupo




(41) Jaden Hassan on the M1 Motorsport BMW S1000RR, leading Formula Auckland.


(21) Tarbon Walker has the measure of the Supersport 600 field


(33) Fabiano Paiva Santos is doing double-duty – running both Superlite, and the Carl Cox Motorsport Ninja Cup – aboard the 400 Kawasaki

Credit: Philip Kavermann